♫ NEW RELEASE ♫                       THE PIANO MAN PROJECT by KAT FRENCH

THE PIANO MAN BANNER

 

Title: The Piano Man Project
Author: Kat French
                                                 Genre: Romantic Comedy                                                   Release date: 30th July 2015
Publisher: Avon

9e0c2-add2bto2bgr

 

KFF SYNOPSIS

 

Finding love isn’t always black and white…

You: kind, piano-playing sex god
Me: hopelessly romantic charity shop manager

Honeysuckle Jones has a problem, and her best friends Nell and Tash are on a mission to help her solve it. She needs a man – a caring, intelligent, funny man. But most importantly, a man who’s good with his hands…

Luckily Honey’s new neighbour – moody, antisocial ex-chef Hal – fails on almost every count. Even though the chemistry between them is electric, he’s obviously wrong for her in every way.

But when Honey discovers the devastating reason for his moods she decides to give him another chance. And discovers that the best songs aren’t always in tune…

A hilarious, feel-good, sexy romantic comedy for fans of Lucy Diamond, Paige Toon and Giovanna Fletcher.

 

TPMP

 

KFF 4.5 REVIEW

 

Reviewed by Rachel McEwan and Sharon Thérèse Nuttall

Okay… let’s be honest here! This read is ‘chick lit’, pure and simple but since erotica has taken the book world by storm, it’s a genre that has been left behind and forgotten. Don’t get us wrong, we love erotica and this author, Kat French, also writes under another name, Kitty French, which for those of you who don’t know this, is her erotica pen name. However, this read offers a touch more than your usual light-hearted romance associated with ‘chick lit’. In fact, we would go so far as saying it’s a stand-up-and laugh-out-aloud tragedy. And to top the lot, British to the core so for you American readers, get the Oxford dictionary ready because you’ll most likely need it.

‘’I’m Honey by the way.’’
‘’Well that’s ridiculous. What’s your real name?’
‘’Honey is my real name. Well it’s Honeysuckle, actually.’’
‘’F**k me. That’s even more ridiculous.’’

Two neighbours who have completely different backgrounds and personalities clashing on a tsunami scale, made us wonder right up until the last chapter if the author was going to offer us a happy ending. It was a piece of cake relating to both leading characters regardless of their huge differences. Those differences being the foundation for Hal and Honeysuckle’s story. And boy oh boy, do they know how to rub one another up the wrong way! Oh yes, and her name we found so fitting for such a ‘honeyed’ and generous-hearted gal in her late twenties.

Honey ~ ‘’You weren’t kidding when you said you don’t do chat, were you?’’
Hal ~ ‘’If you were looking for Oprah you knocked on the wrong door, sweetheart’’

Hal. Ex chef extraordinaire, ex adrenaline freak, well, just about ex everything, has turned his back on the life he once had because of a dire handicap he’s having trouble living with. Not only does he wallow in self-pity, but he’s also as stubborn as an ox, constantly stroppy and when he does open his mouth, he’s downright offensive! Goodness gracious, the author has really gone to town describing his uncivilised ways and one-liners mixed with dry humorous satire. When he can get his hands on a drop of alcohol, he demolishes it regardless of the time of day. And even though he’s drop-dead gorgeous, he couldn’t care less about his appearance. The attraction palpates between them in most peculiar of places and the conversation is at times, very one-sided. Yet he still wants nothing to do with this Good Samaritan living next door. However, she’s hell-bent on helping him and perhaps he could ‘lend a hand or something else’ which would solve her problem, too. He is the perfect candidate and despite the offering, is not prepared to give in to her persuasion.

Hal ~ ‘’Don’t treat me like your fucking project, Honeysuckle. I’m not some endangered goddamn panda that you get to come over and visit with bamboo sticks to tempt me out of my hut.”

Giving her what she has never experienced might just get her two besties off her back at the same time. Why? Because Honey’s besties are on a mission. She’s not at all willing to go along with Tash and Nell’s idea that they’d conjured up while shopping with these two feisty gals in a rather colourful store. Fall over backwards laughing, we did! She’d rather go along with them than put up a fight. So their decision to get her out of her ‘dry spell’ and much more is put into action. Take note of the title here because it is so relevant to Honey’s story.

Honey ~ “I’m no prude, I like sex. I just never had an orgasm. It’s no big deal.”

In the meantime, Honey has a job to do which complicates by the minute. The charity shop she runs is in danger of closing down along with a retirement home both directed by Christopher. Obnoxious, deceitful and cold-blooded towards the feelings of the home’s residents, he will give Honey a run for her money. And wait for it, the most gripping of old folk you could ever wish to meet had us cracking up over their flowery banter.

Hal ~ “Go inside Strawberry Girl. Go to bed. I shouldn’t have kissed you. I won’t do it again.”

Ms French is a marvellous storyteller! Our only niggle, and it was just a slight niggle, was we did feel she held back a tad in this novel. We thought it could have been spiced up a bit in the sex department but having said that, this is ‘chick lit’ and we have to say this read is right up there with the best! What we both really missed was an epilogue. We felt that Hal and his Strawberry girl deserved a real send off. Saying that, the author’s story is well-structured, her leading and secondary characters are extremely well-developed, the story beautifully written and grammatically faultless. Bravo Ms French for a fresh and captivating page-flipping read.

 

KFF BUY LINKS

 

AMAZON: U.K |U.S | CANADA |AUSTRALIA 

BARNES & NOBLE

KOBO

iBOOKS

 

KFF ABOUT THE AUTHOR

 

KITTY FRENCHnKat was born and raised in the heart of the Black Country, where she still lives with her husband, two little boys and the oldest cat in the world. She grew up with a healthy obsession for books, and several years ago she promised her husband she would write novels if Santa gave her a macbook for Christmas. It’s a promise she is very glad to have kept. She’s a disorganised mum, fairy light lover, and champion wine drinker.

Slightly less smutty alter-ego of Kitty French, USA Today bestselling smut fictionista, writes no holds barred romance, sexy escapist reads hot enough to burn your fingers! The Lucien Knight Trilogy has been an erotic best-seller around the world, and her last book, Genie, was published  on February 26th 2015.

 

KFF STALK THE AUTHOR

 

FACEBOOK  TWITTER  WEBSITE  PINTEREST  GOOGLE+  AMAZON AUTHOR’S PAGE  GOODREADS AUTHOR’S PAGE

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s